battle programmers alliance
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

battle programmers allianceLog in

the LivinGrimoire Artificial General Intelligence software design pattern forum

descriptionlinks/suggestions to become a programmer Emptylinks/suggestions to become a programmer

more_horiz
Hello everybody, I'm here after seeing your ad on the TFM show. I have to say it's an interesting place, but I'm not sure I can contribute much.

I currently work as a mechanic, but I have an interest in computer programming. I'm thinking about changing profession because my joints are starting to hurt after 11 years in the industry, I won't be young forever.

In the early days of the TFM show, Turd mentioned a lot computer programming, him and FeedingTheCat both gave some suggestions to places with some free education. But there are so many different fields and requirements, one can get lost.

I did computer programming in 2001-2004 in high school, grade 10 was Turbo Pascal, and grade 11 and 12 was Java, but it was so long ago I forgot almost everything. I have completed some certificates on Coursera for Java and Python, but took a pause from it to save some dollars and I am currently on Khan Academy going through their Computer Programming courses that use at the moment JavaScript, with CSS and HTML.
Later I will do their Computer Science courses, and then move to the Electrical Engineering section.

I'm not sure if this is very off topic from the whole forum but, have any of you considered creating a section with sticky's that link to .pdf's or videos or websites that help someone become a programmer or improve their programming skills? Also sub-sections with links and/or advice on how to obtain a job in different programming fields and skills needed for those fields?